String Layers Vol. II

Following the release of “String Layers” in 2020, we are back with a second edition in our series with 21 previously unreleased tracks to celebrate the variety and diversity of string instruments. The series is put together to highlight music which exists between the avant-garde, contemporary-classical and instrumental worlds.

As with the previous editions of  the “Layers” series, there are 21 artists involved  and they come from all over the world, symbolic of the fact that the love for instrumental, contemporary classical and  avant-garde music has a real audience and its own scene capable of reaching and conquering listeners worldwide. The idea of ​ “Layers” is to connect artists from all over the world and give greater strength to their musical message.

String Layers” reaches its second chapter as always trying to poke around the infinite creative possibilities of stringed instruments, whether they are left to completely lead the scene or are associated with electronics. “String Layers” tries to paint a picture of the influences and sound paths that these twenty-one artists have created for Volume 2 of the 7K! Records collection. The collection goes through the brilliant ambient experiments of the cello by Julia Kent and Clarice Jensen, through the compositions of Sophia Jani and Justina Jaruševičiūtė up to the Middle Eastern influences of the Iranian Rooydad. The Roman composer Federico Bisozzi experiments in pop (between strings and synthesizers that combine with each other), while Freya Arde, Field Kit, Karolina Gutowska, TONAL and Toecher experiment in ambient & electronics. Federica Guccione, Natalia Tsupryk, Moritz Fasbender and Daniela Savoldi move into territories closer to the classic, while the passages of Otto Lindholm and Wyldest are cinematic. The sound of the Tanbur by Turkish composer Merve Salgar is truly unique, as are the dreamy and magical guitars of Enno Vos and the sounds of the harp of Andy Aquarius.


Tracklist & Credits

Julia Kent – Echo Of Wings
Sophia Jani & Darian Donovan Thomas – Tulips
Field Kit – Seismic
Clarice Jensen – Steeple
Justina Jaruševičiūtė – Into the Deep
Rooydad, Sharon Chen – I Could Have Lived Differently
Freya Arde – Shimmer
Federico Bisozzi – Anatomica
Jessica Moss – Trapped Cycle
Francesca Guccione – Mare Tranquillitatis
Natalia Tsupryk – The Trees Will Swing
Toechter – Filiabilia
Otto Lindholm – Carnac
Moritz Fasbender feat. Katharina Deissler – Verona
Daniela Savoldi – Pensieri Velati
Wyldest – Rainstorm Utopia
Karolina Gutowska – Ïna
Merve Salgar – Fly In The Wall
Enno Voss – Shape Of Blue
Tonal – Schau Mal
Andy Aquarius – The Mere

Listen & order here